Are you ready to get your florida learners permit and start putting your driving skills to the test? Before you can get your permit and get behind the wheel, there are a few requirements you’ll need to meet. Depending upon your age, you may need to go through an extra step. However, once you’ve got your permit in hand, you’ll be able to start driving while another licensed driver aged 21 or over is with you.
- Age requirements: You must be at least 15 years of age and no older than 18 at the time of your application. If you have already reached the age of 18 and have not previously applied for a florida learners permit, you may be able to apply for a regular driver license.
- Parental consent: Applicants under the age of 18 need to provide a signed parental consent form. Legal parents can sign the form, but stepparentscannot.
- Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course: Before you get your florida learners permit, you’ll need to take and pass the TLSAE course. The course is available to take online from your home or any other convenient location with internet access.
- Vision and hearing test: You’ll need to go into one of the Department of Motor Vehicles’ (DMV) service centers to have your vision and hearing checked. These tests check to make sure you’ll be able to react appropriately to other cars, pedestrians, and sounds while driving.
- Learner’s permit exam: By studying material from the Official Florida Driver License Handbook or taking courses, you’ll be ready to take the test. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the test covers questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. You will need to get a score of at least 80 percent to pass. All questions are multiple-choice.
- Proof of identity: Check with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for a list of acceptable documents. The department will need to verify your legal name, address, and social security number.
Once you meet all the requirements for your florida learners permit, you’ll be able to hit the road while the sun is out during the first three months. After that, you’ll be allowed to practice your skills until 10 p.m. Ready to get started with the knowledge you’ll need to pass the exam? Click here to register for your online course and exam today!